print page



The Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) is an inter-disciplinary committee of the International Council for Science (ICSU). SCAR is charged with initiating, developing and coordinating high quality international scientific research in the Antarctic region, and on the role of the Antarctic region in the Earth system. The scientific business of SCAR is conducted by its Standing Scientific Groups which represent the scientific disciplines active in Antarctic research and report to SCAR.

In addition to carrying out its primary scientific role, SCAR also provides objective and independent scientific advice to the Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meetings and other organizations on issues of science and conservation affecting the management of Antarctica and the Southern Ocean. In that role, SCAR has made numerous recommendations on a variety of matters, most of which have been incorporated into Antarctic Treaty instruments. Foremost amongst these have been the advice provided for the many international agreements which provide protection for the ecology and environment of the Antarctic.

SCAR meets every two years to conduct its administrative business at the SCAR Delegates Meeting. At these meetings the members of SCAR, through their appointed Delegates, are responsible for approving SCAR finances, and formulating SCAR policy and strategy. They also elect an Executive Committee from among themselves which is responsible for the day-to-day administration of SCAR through its Secretariat at the Scott Polar Research Institute in Cambridge, England. The Executive Committee comprises the President, Past-President, four Vice-Presidents and the SCAR Executive Director. The SCAR Secretariat is staffed by the Executive Director, Executive Officer and an Administrative Assistant.

SCAR also holds, prior to the Delegates Meeting, a major Open Science Conference to draw attention to Antarctic issues, along with meetings of the Standing Scientific Groups that are designed to finalise the Science Programmes for eventual approval by the Delegates.

The Royal Society of New Zealand

The Royal Society of New Zealand is the national academy of scholars covering science, technology and the humanities. It promotes, invests in and celebrates excellence in people and ideas for the benefit of all New Zealanders. It administers research funds, publishes academic journals, supports science and technology education, hosts public events and lectures, offers evidence-based advice to Government and fosters international research contact and co-operation.

In 2014 the Royal Society of New Zealand will be hosting the 31 General Assembly of the International Council of Science (ICSU) following the 2014 SCAR Open Science Conference in Auckland.

We offer best 200-120 exam , 350-029 exam latest ccie service provider exam

Antarctica New Zealand

Antarctica New Zealand is the Crown Entity responsible for developing, managing and executing New Zealand Government activities in Antarctica and the Southern Ocean, in particular the Ross Dependency. Antarctica New Zealand manages Scott Base, New Zealand’s Antarctic research station. It maintains New Zealand’s operational presence in the Ross Dependency for the benefit of present and future generations of New Zealanders. Key activities include supporting scientific research, conserving the intrinsic values of Antarctica and the Southern Ocean and raising public awareness (in part through arts, media and youth programmes) of the international significance of the continent. For more information please visit


The Scar Open Science Conference will be hosted by the Royal Society of New Zealand through the Royal Society Expert Panel on Antarctic Sciences and sponsored by Antarctica New Zealand

Royal Society Expert Panel on Antarctic Sciences:

Professor Bryan Storey (Chair)

Gateway Antarctica, University of Canterbury

Dr Megan Balks

Dept of Earth Sciences, School of Science and Technology, The University of Waikato

Mr Graeme Blick

Land Information NZ

Professor Craig Cary

Dept of Biological Sciences, University of Waikato

Dr Stuart Henrys

GNS Sciences

Dr Huw Horgan

Antarctic Research Centre, Victoria University

Dr Miles Lamare

Dept of Marine Science, University of Otago

Dr Daniella Liggett

Gateway Antarctica, University of Canterbury

Dr Victoria Metcalf

Agriculture and Life Sciences Division, Lincoln University

Dr Olaf Morgenstern


Associate Professor

Mary Sewell

School of Biological Sciences, University of Auckland

Dr Mike Williams


Local Organising Committee

Professor Bryan Storey (Chair)

Gateway Antarctica, University of Canterbury

Katrina Hall

Gateway Antarctica, University of Canterbury

Dr Ed Butler

Antarctica New Zealand

Richard Meylan

Royal Society of New Zealand

Sira Engelbertz


Dr Fraser Morgan

Landcare Research

Dr Clive Evans

University of Auckland

Nita Smith

Christchurch City Council

Joanne Pollard

Antarctica New Zealand

Kylie Wood

Antarctica New Zealand

Professor Craig Cary

University of Waikato